Terry Molloy

  1. Keith Drinkel, Doctor Who # 122: Time Flight, TV, 1982.        As many as 25 casting (or dart) board regulars were up for any (or all!) of three characters in Doc4 Peter Davison’s tale about a missing Concorde. Molloy, Dallas Adams, Sean Arnold, Colin Baker, Andrew Burt, Tom Chadbon, Michael Cochrane, Ian Collier, Forbes Collins, Eric Deacon, Jack Galloway, Richard Heffer, Paul Jerricho, Ian McCulloch, Clive Merrison, Edward Peel, Martin Potter, Jeff Rawle, Carl Rigg, Patrick Ryecart, Malcolm Stoddard, Donald Sumpter, Robert Swann Malcolm Tierney, Stephen Yardley – they were all up for Flight Engineer Scobie…    
  2. Michael Cashman, Doctor Who # 122: Time Flight, TV, 1982.     …and for First Officer Bilton
  3. Michael McDermott   Doctor Who # 122: Time Flight, TV, 1982.      …plus Sheard – which wasn’t even offered to another Whoverse favourite Michael… Sheard.
  4. Nigel Humphreys, Doctor Who #130: Warriors of The Deep, 1984.        The 17 choices for Bulic were Molloy, Richard Heffer, Roger Lloyd Pack, Bruce McCulloch, Stephen Rea, Carl Rigg, Donald Sumpter, Dave Warwick, Steve Yardley – plus Nicholas Ball, Tom Chadbon, Maurice Colbourne, Paul Darrow, Michael Gothard, Tony Osoba, Edward Peel from the astonishing army of 203 candidates for just 18 roles in that year’s Lifeforce movie mess. The difference being Who was science fiction and Lifeforce was science fart.
  5. Jack Galloway, Doctor Who #131: The Awakening, TV, 1984.        Up for Joseph Willow in the Doc5 Peter Davison trip – Molloy, Galloway, Alun Armstrong, Nicholas Ball, Jim Broadbent, Tom Chadbon, John Hallam, Prentis Hancock, Del Henney, Roy Holder, Alan Lake, Edward Peel, Jeff Rawle, Carl Rigg, Paul Shelley, Donald Sumpter, Malcolm Tierney were familiar names from producer John Nathan-Taylor’s casting/dart board. He also voted for three newcomers: Geoffrey Bateman, Scott Fredericks, Ian Talbot.
  6. Maurice O’Connell, Doctor Who #132: Frontios, TV, 1984.      Seventeen possibles for Cockerill opposite Doc6 Peter Davison. O’Connell won. And lost. Most of his work was cut. Huge sigh of relief from… Molloy, Alun Armstrong, Nicholas Ball, Jim Broadbent, Tom Chadbon, Maurice Colbourne, Forbes Collins, Michael Elphick, Michael Gothard, John Hallam, Del Henney, Philip Jackson, Alan Lake, Tony Osoba, Edward Peel, Donald Sumpter and Stephen Yardley. Molloy was famous as Davros, the creator of the Daleks, first in the two-parters #133: Resurrection of the Daleks, 1984, and #142: Revelation of the Daleks, 1985, followed by a four-parter, #148: Remembrance of the Daleks, 1988. He was also Russell in #137: Attack of the Cybermen, 1985. But he was so famous as Davros that his surprise appearance in the 25th anniversary season opener, #148: Rememberance of the Daleks, 1988, was hidden behind the the anagramatic credit of… Roy Tromelly.
  7. Brian Glover, Doctor Who #137: Attack of the Cybermen, 1985.      The Liverpoool actor with the same name as Brando’s On The Waterfrontcharacter was up for three roles for the Season 22 opener with Doc6 Colin Baker. Director Matthew Robinson selected Molloy for Russell, giving Griffiths to Glover….James Beckett, Doctor Who #137: Attack of the Cybermen, 1985. …and Payne to Beckett.
  8. Julian Bleach, Doctor Who #198: The Stolen Earth, TV, 2008.      The Doctor as goes under new management – and Molloy was dropped as as the third actor to play Davros, the cruel creator of the Daleks. He’d succeeded David Gooderson and Michael Wisher in #133: Resurrection of the Daleks, 1984; #142: Revelation of the Daleks,1985; and #148: Remembrance of the Daleks, 1988… with, respectively, Docs 5, 6 and 7: Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy. Molloy also plays Mike Tucker in the world’s longest running soap, BBC Radio’s The Archers (on air since 1950) and is the third cast member to go Whovian after Frank Middlemass (the last Dan Archer) and Felicity Jones (Emma Grundy).

 Birth year: Death year: Other name: Casting Calls:  8